Ohlone Sacred Sites – Walking Bridges

On March 11, 2011, I presented a four part, interactive video installation at the de Young Museum. Technical issues with my DVD burner, on top of the tragic news in Japan, all moved me deeply that day. In fact, I doubt I had ever been so nervous. Today, I feel very calm and hopeful.

I was taught that when I add a shell to a necklace I am making, whether for myself or someone else, it is a prayer. Ever since my work began with the de Young, having the opportunity and space to work over time, slowly depending on my physical limitations, for the first time, I was able to see my work as a filmmaker in the same way. Each finished work, a shell of prayer for greater understanding, which is ultimately my goal as an artist, to dialogue within, and facilitate conversation in community.

In working on Bridge Walkers, I brought together many shells, some were from Mexico, others from right here at home in California. I am deeply grateful to those people who gifted me shells on this journey, bringing forth this work is as much your prayer for good as my own.

I do pray Bridge Walkers can do some good.

Below is the 20 min. WIP Bridge Walkers Short Documentary, for medium download speeds. You will find following a low band with version to facilitate viewing at a range of speeds.

Not interested in 20 minutes? How about 10 minutes? Click here to view a 10 min. Bridge Walkers sample on YouTube.

Like what you see? Please consider making a tax-deductible donation by clicking on the Fractured Atlas button on the right. Donations will fund a sound sweetening and color correction session to prepare Bridge Walkers for a broader distribution.

Please support Indian People Organizing for Change, Indian Canyon and the work of Ohlone people across the regions of the Bay Area as Ohlone preservation and cultural revitalization efforts are going on throughout the Bay Area.

Thank you!

Error
This video doesn’t exist
Error
This video doesn’t exist

Leave a Reply

